News of june

My vacations at Praia da Pinheira, SC, BR.

My vacations at Praia da Pinheira, SC, BR.

Howdy everyone!

I’ve decided to start posting in english from now on.

As much as I like to write in portuguese, I believe english broadens the spectrum of readers.

News

Been busy at work and taking care of my health (pain in the back is a pain in the ass).

But I started swimming again and working in conjunction with Pilates my back is going to be 100% in no time.
Ah, I also took some Shiatsu sessions and it’s been great. I recommend it.

What I’ve been doing

Basically working, studying, taking care o’ my health and writing. Good projects coming along the way.
Will post some news about them as soon as I can.

What I’ve been reading

How to draw noir comics – The Art and Technique of Visual Storytelling – Shawn Martinbrough

Very good book that talks about high contrast image creation and storytelling. If you like to create such art pieces and tell stories in high contrast B&W, buy yourself this book.

The Marquis – Inferno – Guy Davis

Excellent graphic novel with a noir/suspense/horror setting dealing with religious beliefs. One of the best I’ve had the pleasure of reading.

Graphic Storytelling and Visual Narrative – Will Eisner

Great instructional book for whoever wants to start creating comics or understanding how to create visual sequential stories. Introduction book, contains lots of advices from the father of comics.

The Ballad of Rango – The art and making of an outlaw movie – David S. Cohen

I haven’t yet had the chance to watch this movie, but since I’m into westerns/outlaw settings, couldn’t let the chance to buy this piece slip from me. It’s an excellent art book that contains not only the story behind the designs, but also of the whole process of the movie, the creation, ideations, paths they took. The character designs are the soul of this book.

Estórias Gerais – Wellington Srbek, Flávio Colin

A graphic novel in the 20s, in Brazil’s Sertão in Minas Gerais, this one is a classic. Starting with the language, with terms indigenous of the region and ending with the lines and graphic style, extremelly recommended for brazillian comics lovers.

Introducing ZBrush4 – Eric Keller

Excellent book for the ZBrush 4 beginner (like me). Introductory and explanatory, covers every part of the program, leading you throgh series of exercises and concepts to master the digital sculpting marvel-tool.

ZBrush Character Creation: Advanced Digital Sculpting – Scott Spencer

Intermediate to advanced book on ZBrush 4’s character digital sculpting, complements so well the “Introduction to ZBrush 4” that, to me, it seems essential to buy to grasp all aspects of the program. Can’t recommend enough.

What I’ve been hearing

Paris Combo

Parisian french band, has been inspiring me for some time, since I first heard Putumayo‘s french music cds. Jazzy and world music in style, I highly recommend it to every world music lover

What I’ve been playing

Dragon Age 2

Very good game, has an improved combat system and a story spanning many years, with lots of plot changing decisions to make. Not as good as the first one, though, with repetitive environments and story a bit confusing sometimes.

Dead Space 2

Excellent game, sequel to the groundbreaking “Dead Space”, this one follow’s the same protagonist some years later. Superb graphics, sound design and solid (if somewhat unanswering) story, everything is good about this game. Play it. Now. If you’ve the first one, that is.

Amnesia – The Dark Descent

Horror game that takes place in a german castle in the late 1800s, this is one of the scariest games I’ve ever played. From the sound design to the gameplay and story, I highly recommend it to any horror game and Lovecraftian story lover. Just be warned that this is an independent game.

The Witcher 2 – Assassins of Kings

Haven’t played much, need to fix my bedroom internet issue first. From what I’ve seen, though, this is going to be one of the best RPGs.

I’m starting a process to buy a new pc, which will allow me to go back to making awesome personal art (hooray!).
The idea is to have a new one by my birthday (mid July).

Best regards to ya’ll.

Uma resposta para “News of june

Deixe um comentário

